Tuesday 3/30
Woke up to another chilly desert morning at Palo Duro and headed out for one last trail run. Kate and I ran separate, but both traversed the "Comanche Trails" which are more rugged than the ones we'd done yesterday and the day before, but offer awesome scenery on the edge of the canyon. There's a trail that then connects to the top of the rim that I wanted to do and figured if it was steep, I'd just walk parts of it to get to the top. It was slowish moving, but still run-able and I was able to crest to the rim for a half mile or so before I turned around. Great views from the top. Well worth the trek.
We took off for Santa Fe around 11:15 with the box ratcheted down and also supported by the canoe rack guides. Very windy on the drive, but it held. I-40 is a pretty arid stretch between Amarillo and Santa Fe. Long stretches without services. We did stop at a "route 66" gas station that certainly looked the roll.
Pit-stopped at Pecos National Historic Park just outside Santa Fe to check it out. It was a Pueblo for hundreds of years with great proximity to the Pecos river and on high ground to defend against attacks (presumably from the Comanche). In the 1600s, the Spanish moved in and tried to convert everybody with a mission, which was eventually burned down in revolt, then rebuilt, and eventually abandoned as the Spanish receded. Mainly just ruins to see, but cool to learn about and a sweeping view of the snow-capped mountains.
We got into town and Kate brought Dash to a dog park while I did a shakeout double along the Santa Fe "River" (more of a ditch with rocks in it). Santa Fe is hardcore with mask compliance. Indoors and outdoors even while exercising. Quite the whiplash from Texas that removed all mandates.
It's odd being on the stubborn side of the mask debate all of a sudden. I completely fail to see how wearing a mask on a walking path is actually increasing safety. If the thing was that contagious, we'd all have had it by now. I also think it's a bit hypocritical as I ran past a youth soccer game and ~80% of the kids weren't wearing masks. Again, I don't personally think that's a huge issue because it's outside, but that situation seems much more risky than passing someone on a walking path. Moreover, they have indoor dining available. Even at 25% capacity, that's definitely a much larger risk than anything outside.
We did end up eating indoors at Tomasita's restaurant. It's a long-standing casual Mexican place that was half a mile from our Air Bnb. Great food for reasonable prices. Both of us got absolutely massive plates that we both finished and regretted doing so.
Our Airbnb is great. It's a efficiency apartment attached to the owner's house, but with a separate entrance. Chic and well-kept and a close walk to the center of town.
Excited to check out more of Santa Fe in the daylight tomorrow.
Comments
Post a Comment